Monday, March 25, 2013

Marvelous Middle Grade Monday - Deadweather and Sunrise

Today's feature has been making the blog rounds over the last couple of weeks. A big thanks to the publisher and Karen at Media Masters Publicity for sending me a copy of the book and an ARC of the sequel. I haven't finished reading the first book yet, but so far I'm loving it. 

DEADWEATHER AND SUNRISE: The Chronicles of Egg, Book One
by: Geoff Rodkey
Original publication 2012

First the description from the book jacket:
It's tough to be thirteen, especially when somebody's trying to kill you.

Not that Egg's life was ever easy, growing up on sweaty, pirate-infested Deadweather Island with no company except an incompetent tutor and a pair of unusually violent siblings who hate his guts.

But when Egg's father hustles their family off on a mysterious errand to fabulously wealthy Sunrise Island, then disappears with the siblings in a freak accident, Egg finds himself a long-term guest at the mansion of the glamorous Pembroke family and their beautiful, sharp-tongued daughter Millicent. Finally, life seems perfect.

Until someone tries to throw him off a cliff.

Suddenly, Egg's running for his life in a bewildering world of cutthroat pirates, villainous businessmen, and strange Native legends. The only people who can help him sort out the mystery of why he's been marked for death are Millicent and a one-handed, possibly deranged cabin boy.

Come along for the ride. You'll be glad you did.

Okay, I have to admit, the first reason I agreed to blog about this series was the fact that Geoff Rodkey was the screenwriter of Disney Channel’s Good Luck Charlie, It’s Christmas. (We love Good Luck Charlie in my house.)  Anyway, I was a little unsure of the book when it arrived, it seemed to be too adventurous and "piratey" for my liking.  But, you can't judge a book by its cover. So far, I'm loving the book and can't wait to see how it ends.

Some items to note:
  • DEADWEATHER AND SUNRISE is now available in paperback.
  • The second book in the series: NEW LANDS will be released on May 2, 2013. I will be hosting a giveaway in May for a paperback copy of DEADWEATHER AND SUNRISE and a hardcover copy of NEW LANDS.
  • Geoff's blog:
  • Official Chronicles of Egg website:
Thanks for stopping by! I know it's been a few weeks since I've posted. I've been off the blogs for a bit getting some writing done, but I hope to be around more soon! Please be sure to stop by my favorite Marvelous Middle Grade Blogs - see my list on the right of my website.

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Clouds - Robin Jones Gunn

Today's post is for a book I was sent by Blogging for Books. I'm actually a huge fan of this author, but hadn't read any of the books in this series. I definitely plan to read more!

by: Robin Jones Gunn
Originally published in 1997 and then again in 2004

From Goodreads:

Shelly Graham has moved home to Glenbrooke, where she's flooded with memories of her high school sweetheart, who took off for Europe after they broke up. But when Shelly travels to Germany, she suddenly runs into the former boyfriend who has filled her thoughts. Learning that Jonathan is engaged, Shelly hides her feelings for him. After returning home, however, she must face these feelings, especially after her path crosses Jonathan's yet again. Only this time, if they can find the strength to be honest, they just might discover what God has in store.She remembers their childhood with longing their parting with regret…

Coming home wasn’t supposed to feel this way. After five years as a flight attendant, Shelly is home again, in a house alive with happy memories. Yet she feels strangely lost. Without direction. Alone.

Where is Jonathan Renrield when she needs him? Jonathan, her best friend nearly all her life, her first and only love. Shelly hadn’t meant to hurt him when she left him behind to chase her dreams. And she misses him more than she’s ever admitted. When they unexpectedly meet in Germany, Shelly manages to hide her feelings from Jonathan—and his fiancĂ©e. But she can no longer hide them from herself. Will she ever be ready to tell Jonathan the truth? Will she have the chance?

Not until a business trip takes her to charming Glenbrooke, Oregon does Shelly finally understand: only the truth can set her free. But is it too late for her and Jonathan?

Even though this is number 5, this is the first of The Glenbrooke Series that I have read. I'm definitely going to read the other books now too! This was a quiet read and one filled with forgiveness, family and love, both of others and God. I felt it moved along and didn't get bogged down in details, but gave enough background information to grasp the bond of Shelly and Jonathan, while sharing how they would eventually find one another again. I enjoyed reading the middle which was set in Germany. Robin did a fantastic job with description! I've never been to Germany, but could picture the characters and imagine the scene outside St. Annakapella. I don't often have tears when reading, but did a few times; I was so engrossed in the story. Robin Jones Gunn is a gifted writer and shares such wonderful, heartfelt stories. I haven't read one yet that I didn't love.

I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest opinion. The views expressed here are my own.

Other links of interest:
Thanks so much for stopping by!  Have a wonderful day!